What Difference Do You Make For The Next Generation?

I used to hate kids.

I was an only child, growing up. I have five aunts, and though my mom never spoiled me, they did. I was an only child in the family. You can only imagine how loved and cared for I was when I was young. I was the center of the spotlight. Until, I was eight years old and they got married, and have kids.

Soon, my mom got pregnant with my brother when I was 11.  I was not jealous. I understood that a day would come when I would be the Kuya. That I will not be the center of the spotlight anymore.

But there is something that I didn’t anticipate though. As rowdy as I was, I never thought it was that hard to be patient with kids. I thought that they would just be cute and mushy all the time. And that it would be easy to be a good kuya around them.

I have never been so wrong. It was hard to be patient whenever my brother and my cousins start being whiny, and rowdy.

I am an introvert, so I’m not used to a noisy environment. And whenever all my cousins are around, the words quiet, serene, and peaceful suddenly lose their meaning. Whenever I babysit them, I would always end up being impatient and annoyed.

It was 2016 when I met Joshua who did One2One with me. He volunteers at Kids Church. I am familiar with Kids Church, because I used to attend one when I was young on our church at Quezon. He tried inviting me to observe. Given the circumstances I said above, I easily declined the invitation.

When The Unlikely Happened

Joshua’s consistent invitation to observe at Kids Church made me agree to go with him one Sunday afternoon. My expectations were that the kids would all be rowdy, and I would be having a hard time concentrating and observing the service. I thought I wouldn’t enjoy the service.  I was pessimistic.

I could have not been more correct about how the kids would be. They were rowdy.

But I enjoyed the service! You read that right. As I was observing that day, God showed me how He moves through the lives of these kids. I swear, when I saw these kids worshiping God, it was the sincerest worship service I have ever witnessed.

God put compassion in my heart. My desire to serve in Kids Church grew stronger each day. It was not long when I found myself signing up to volunteer in one of their services. The process was fast, I got interviewed, and oriented in just two weeks.

I was excited!

They told me to wait for their message when they assign me to a team, and then I could start volunteering. I waited for a week, and I didn’t receive an update. I waited for another week, still, no updates.

I told you already that I can be impatient at times. So, I decided to go personally to get an update from them. I asked a volunteer how I could become part of a team. The volunteer introduced me to a former leader from Kids Church. He recommended me to the team he used to lead. I became a regular volunteer to that team.

Whatever It Takes

It is over a year now when I started volunteering at Kids Church. I couldn’t imagine how I am right now if I did not serve in this ministry. When I first started, I was not expecting much. I was given minimal tasks. Tending children whenever they went to the restroom, assisting in huddle time, giving out KC Bucks whenever someone answers the right question. I was enjoying it.

Little did I know that God has plans that is much bigger than I am anticipating.

Before long, our team admin asked me if I could do a speaking role for the next service. I told her that I feel like I am not ready yet. Surprisingly, I was assigned to do transition. I was shocked, but I also did not want to tell them that I do not want to do it.

I prayed and trusted God. When that Sunday came, I was nervous about what I was about to do, but at the same time, I am trusting everything to God. After all, it is not I who will be speaking, but God. When I finished talking in front, I was in awe. So is everyone in the room. The team told me it was such a revelation seeing me speak in front.

I was more grateful, because I wouldn’t have been able to do it without God. It was Him.

It was on that day that I had my first “Whatever It Takes” moment. This statement is popular in Kids Church. Not only because it sounds positively motivating. But because it speaks the value of why Kids Church is important. From that moment on, I have learned a bunch of lessons. I grew more spiritual. Most importantly, I realized how important it is to serve the next generation.

Legacy

If I would leave a legacy, I would want to be known for helping raise the next generation of leaders.

Kids. they may be little, and rowdy. Oftentimes, they are overlooked, and underestimated. But they are our tremendous responsibility. When we become irresponsible of raising the next generation, we are building a much irresponsible future for ourselves.

To have a legacy, we do not have to do grand deeds. Raising these children to be the next generation leaders is a legacy enough. Not only are we imparting true identity through the gospel in their lives, but we are also building the foundation of our future.

Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it. -Proverbs 22:6

When Jesus told His disciples “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations…” (Matthew 28:19), the kids are not excluded. In fact, these kids deserve the salvation of Jesus Christ as young as they are.

What Is Your Legacy?

You do not have to be a volunteer at Kids Church to start having an impact to the next generation.

Make a difference by leading the children close to you closer to Jesus Christ.

But of course, if you have the heart to serve in Kids Church you are very much welcome to volunteer.

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.” -Matthew 19:14

Jesus calls us to lead the kids to Him, not to hinder them.

Are you willing to do whatever it takes to lead kids to Him?

 

WRITTEN BY: YEV MONARQUIA

Leave a Reply

