Who Built The Wall?

You are a warrior, equipped with a sword, a shield, a helmet, and an armor. You are about to fulfill one of God’s quest for you, perhaps the greatest and the most important one, to slay the enemy by sharing the gospel to people. But as you are about to take charge for action, there is a wall that hinders you from accomplishing God’s mission for you. Which made you wonder,

What is this wall? Where did it come from? And who built this wall?

Where The Bricks Came From

As Christians, one of the most important quest that Jesus commanded us before He ascended to heaven is to have people follow Him by telling the gospel and to have faith in Him. To teach them how to live life the way He lived it on earth.

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age. -Matthew 28:19,20

For some reason, some people are having trouble to do so, and I was one of them. There was this imaginary wall hindering me from doing what Jesus commanded me to do. I analyzed what was stopping me, and realized that it was my own insecurities. While I was so busy studying the Word of God, at the back of my mind, I was building the Wall of Hindrance by stacking bricks of negative thoughts, pre-judged situations, and imaginary anxious conversations.

The builder of the walls that hinder us from sharing God’s word is no one but ourselves. The wall can be anything, for me it was my insecurities. For some it can be their financial status, outlook in life, unconfessed sins, personal insecurities, lack of relationship with God, apathy, etc. But just because it hinders us, it doesn’t mean we will stop fulfilling our quest.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. -Psalm 23:4

Breaking The Wall

Breaking the wall may be one of the most difficult thing to do. On the other side of it are uncharted waters, ruthless temptations, deadly curses, and countless sins. It is about almost everything except our comfort zone. But amidst all of that are people desperate to be rescued. People who are spiritually dead, and in need of a savior.

Right now, there are people who are living in their own present hell. Countless people are molested, raped, depressed, suicidal, or abuse drugs and/or alcohol. Some came from a broken family, have been abandoned since birth, have identity crisis, or have given up believing God. The world is broken by sin, and God has called us to tell them that there is hope, and it can be found in His name.

To break the wall, our faith should be rooted in Christ alone. We must draw our strength from Him, and we must understand that He is using us to rescue the people beyond the wall from their doom. Our hearts must be broken, and pray that God would replace apathy with compassion. We do not need to fear that we might fail or lose for the battle has already been won when Jesus defeated death by resurrecting from His grave, proclaiming victory over sin and condemnation.

Let us have faith that God will guide us whenever we’re in the field sharing the gospel to people. Faith that He will redeem them just as He redeemed us. And faith that someday, the people we made disciples will also be warriors who make disciples as well.

…I have made you and I will carry you;  I will sustain you and I will rescue you. -Isaiah 46:4

WRITTEN BY: YEV MONARQUIA

Leave a Reply

