Feet Above The Water

 

Life is a walk on water. We cannot perceive whether the tides will be high or low, nor the current be weak or strong. As we journey, our knowledge can be limited to how deep or shallow the waters are. We can feel if the weather will be fine or if there is a storm coming. As unpredictable and mysterious life can be, it is also miraculous and full of wonders.

When the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were terrified, and said, “It is a ghost!” and they cried out in fear. But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Take heart; it is I. Do not be afraid.”

And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.” He said, “Come.” So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased. -Matthew 14:26-32

When Peter walked on water, Jesus did not intend for it to be just another miracle He can do, but it was also an imagery of how living a faithful life is.

I was like Peter. When I was in high school, I dreamed of becoming a journalist. I was so convinced that when I go to college, I’ll take up journalism to follow my dreams. But, little did I know, God had a different plan for me. Just as Peter walked on water, He wanted me to do the same.

On-time

It was summer of 2015. I just graduated high school, and I just recovered from my depression. I still had my dream to become a journalist. But my Aunt asked me if it’s okay for me to take up any computer-related course. At first I was reluctant, I prayed for it, and eventually got convinced that I should. So I decided to take up computer engineering, though I was still asking God if this is what He really wanted me to do. Even on the day of my enrolment, I was praying that if this isn’t really what He wills, I’d be compelled to turn to Journalism once again. But God was telling me to get off my boat and walk on water.

Life in engineering wasn’t easy. I failed algebra on my first semester. I also failed physics and statistics. At first I was persistent at finishing this program, constantly convincing myself to love it, but whatever I did, the outcome would always be below average. The water was deep, and where I am going, it was foggy.

I asked God one night what His plans are for me. The fog cleared up, and it was all clear for me. God didn’t want me to be in journalism because I just recovered from my depression. Writing was my getaway when I was depressed in high school. Whenever I write something, its theme would always be suffering, darkness, and depression. If I went there from the beginning, I would be just as depressed as I was before. God didn’t want that.

Unlike Peter, I did not sink underwater. God used my two years in engineering to strengthen my faith in Him. I may have failed a couple of times, but I still focused my eyes on Him. I surpassed all the storms, and strong currents by His grace. He guided me, He saved me. Now, on my third year of college, I am finally taking up journalism. My dream to take up this program may have been delayed. But I can confidently say it was delayed on time. My journey may have been rough and uneasy, but I met a lot of great people along the way who helped me get through. But most importantly, God was the one who ultimately guided me.

Overboard

Inside our own ship, we find comfort and refuge. It is merely one of God’s provision for us. We cannot spend our whole lives living inside it, or expect it to be all of God’s blessing to us. When God tells you to go overboard, will you obey His word?

It may be scary to step out off the boat, but always keep this in mind:

There is nothing that faith cannot overcome.

Let us draw our strength from God, and focus our eyes on Him. And whenever we fail, whenever we sink, God will reach His hand to rescue us. His arms will be open to forgive, to comfort, and to love.

The story may have ended there, but we cannot overlook what God did next after He rescued Peter.

And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased. -Matthew 14:32

After everything Peter went through, God put him back inside the boat, where there is comfort and refuge.

The same way God did with me.

WRITTEN BY: YEV MONARQUIA

Leave a Reply

